PRACTICAL INFORMATION

Museum of Champagne wine and regional archaeology

An extraordinary château : unique collections

The Château Perrier, a symbol of champagne’s expansion across the world, was built between 1852 and 1857 to house the private mansion and cellars belonging to Charles Perrier, director of the Perrier-Jouët champagne house. Designed in an eclectic style inspired by the royal palaces of Paris, Château Perrier was simultaneously a place of residence, a reception venue and a location for champagne production, thanks to the cellars connected directly to the railway line.

It was recognised as a site of significant cultural heritage by the French Ministry for Culture and it now houses the Musée du vin de Champagne et d’Archéologie régionale (the Museum of Champagne wine and regional archaeology).

The collections present the wealth of cultural heritage in the region over four subjects :

1. the formation of the countryside and the chalky Champagne subsoil : ground floor
2. traces left behind by humans in Champagne : second floor
3. creation and history of wine in Champagne – this universal and exceptional cultural heritage : first floor
4. patrons and explorers of the 19th century and the Belle Époque : first floor

Walk from the central main building to the side wings, via the Château’s park and courtyard. Make the most of admiring the façades and the restored roofs, not to forget the marquetry work parquet floors and the painted and sculpted interior design. Learn more with the fun and interactive multimedia, models, games and touchscreen devices aimed at all audiences !

Practical information and access :

The museum is open from 10 a.m. until 7 p.m. every day (except Tuesdays, on 1 January, on 1 May and 25 December)
(The museum begins closing at 6.30pm.)

Two entrances to the museum will be open:

  • 13, avenue de Champagne 51200 Epernay
  • Parking des Arts – Rue de Reims – 51200 Epernay